Observer GigaStor : GigaStor RAID Wiping and Rebuilding : Gen2 48T
   
Gen2 48T
 
Page Contents
How to delete saved network data
How to reformat the RAID volume
How to delete RAID sets
How to build RAID sets
Created: 2016-03-21
Sensitive network traffic is stored on your GigaStor. You can permanently delete this data before sending for maintenance-plan repairs or before decommissioning an old GigaStor hardware unit.
These tasks require a hardware appliance GigaStor. These steps cannot be followed for the GigaStor Software Edition.
In performing a full deletion of the data available on the GigaStor RAID, the following steps should be completed in the following order across the GigaStor Control Panel, Windows, and Areca RAID Controller.
Tip! These instructions are for a specific GigaStor model. See a full listing at GigaStor RAID Wiping and Rebuilding.
1. Within the Observer application, delete the GigaStor saved data on the Active Instance.
How to delete saved network data
2. Within Windows, perform a disk format of the D: volume.
How to reformat the RAID volume
3. Within the Areca RAID Controller user interface, delete the existing RAID sets and D: volume.
How to delete RAID sets
4. Within the Areca RAID Controller user interface, create new RAID sets for immediate or future use.
How to build RAID sets
 
Completing the above operations will ensure that the previously captured data, which was saved in the GigaStor RAID, is deleted in such a way that a future data recovery operation would be nearly impossible.
 
How to delete saved network data
Created: 2016-03-21
Use the GigaStor Control Panel to delete the data collected on the active instance(s) on the GigaStor.
Note: If you use multiple active instances, which is not recommended, you must repeat these steps for each active instance.
To delete the GigaStor saved data captured by an active instance:
2. Click Tools > Delete All Instance Capture Data, and select Yes in the resulting dialog box.
After a few seconds, all data written to the .odat and .ometa files in the disk volumes will have been deleted.
3. (Optional) If you have more than one active instance, repeat the above steps for each active instance.
 
The data captured to disk by GigaStor active instance(s) has been deleted.
 
How to reformat the RAID volume
Created: 2016-03-21
Use the Windows disk formatting utility to remove all file references from the D: disk volume. For added security, you can optionally overwrite the entire volume with empty bits.
To perform a disk format of the D: drive disk volume from within Windows:
1. Within Windows, click Start > Computer.
2. Right-click the D: drive and select Format.
3. Choose either a quick format or full format. Do one of the following only:
For a quicker disk operation and less data security, ensure the Quick Format option is selected and click Start.
For a slower disk operation and more data security, clear (disable) the Quick Format option and click Start.
Caution: Only if you are using Windows XP, the choice between quick format and a “full” format has zero effect on actual disk security. See the Microsoft knowledge base article at .
The D: disk drive volume is now being reformatted. This either deletes and recreates the file system structure only (quick format), or it overwrites all data on the volume with empty bits (non-quick format).
 
The D: drive volume has been successfully reformatted.
 
How to delete RAID sets
Created: 2016-03-21
Use the Areca user interface to delete the existing RAID set from your GigaStor appliance.
Delete the existing RAID set (including the D: volume) and rebuild it again for future use.
1. Launch the Areca Controller application from the Windows Start menu, in Start > All Programs > Areca Technology Corp > ArcHttpSrvGui > Areca HTTP Proxy Server GUI.
The ArcHttpSrvGUI shortcut appears in the Windows taskbar.
2. Double-click the ArcHttpSrvGUI shortcut, which opens up another small window where the available controller entry can be double-clicked.
Figure 46: Taskbar icon
RAID icon in taskbarRAID icon in taskbar
3. The default web browser opens and the following default user credentials can be used to log in unless they were changed: User name – admin, and the password should be left blank. Click OK.
4. Click the first ARC-1882x Web Management or ARC-1882IX-24 Web Management entry you find in the left panel, which opens up the RAID Controller A environment.
On certain RAID controllers, you may need to expand SAS RAID Controllers to see the web management entry.
Figure 47: RAID Controller view
5. In the leftmost panel, select Raid Set Functions > Delete raid.
 
Each RAID set has been fully deleted from the GigaStor unit.
 
How to build RAID sets
Created: 2016-03-21
Create a new RAID array set in the Areca interface, and then prepare the new volume in Windows so it can be read and written to.
This procedure assumes you have already deleted your 48 TB RAID set.
To build a new RAID set:
1. After the RAID sets are deleted, go back into RAID Controller A, then select Raid Set Functions > Create RAID Set.
2. Select all 24 disk drives available, then select Confirm the operation, and click Submit.
3. In the leftmost panel, select Volume Set Functions > Create Volume Set.
4. Set the following options to the values shown below, then select Confirm the Operation, and click Submit
Volume RAID Level – Raid 5
Greater Two TB Volume Support – 64bit LBA
Volume Initialization Mode – Foreground Initialization
Volume Stripe Size – 128
Volume Cache Mode – Write Back
Volume Write Protection – Disabled
Tagged Command Queueing – Enabled
SCSI Channel – 0:0:0
Volumes To Be Created – 1
Initialization of the RAID should now begin.
5. When initialization is complete for the RAID controller, proceed to Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Computer Management > Storage > Disk Management
6. Right-click Disk 1 and select Convert to GPT Disk.
7. Right-click Disk 1 again, select New Simple Volume, and click Next.
8. Assign drive letter D and click Next.
9. Select Format this volume with the following settings and set the following options. Click Next after the options are set.
File system – NTFS
Allocation unit size – Default
Volume label – Data
Perform a quick format – Yes (enabled)
Enable file and folder compression – No (disabled)
Figure 48: Options to set
10. Click Finish.
After a few seconds, the D: volume should now be available to Windows.
 
You successfully built or rebuilt the D: volume. Windows can now read and write to this disk volume.