Understanding dashboards
A dashboard is a report populated with widgets, and these widgets show the information collected by your data sources.
Dashboards are reports populated with widgets. Your reports—your dashboards—are populated with one or many widgets. The data shown by widgets in your dashboards belongs to Observer. To make use of dashboards, Observer must be collecting network trending data and be a data source to Apex. Without trending data, Apex will not have any data for the widgets in a dashboard.
 
Figure 6: An Apex dashboard populated with five widgets
Apex Dashboard [Hi-Res]Apex Dashboard [Hi-Res]
 
System dashboards are available "out-of-the-box" for you and cannot be modified. Dashboards that are pre-made by VIAVI are available to you as system dashboards. System dashboards are identical in function to dashboards you create on your own, but they cannot be modified. Additionally, system dashboards provide broad information and are useful for high-level analytics. A temporary filter can be used while viewing system dashboards, but a permanent filter cannot be added.
Dashboards can be filtered. Any dashboard can have an always-on filter written into its properties. Dashboard filters force every widget in a dashboard to display only information that meets the filter. For example, you can filter a dashboard so that its widgets show statistics from a specific subnet only. Or you can filter a dashboard to search for a telephone number used in a VoIP conversation.
A dashboard filter can be applied to the design of the dashboard itself (always-filtered), applied during viewing of the dashboard (temporary), or applied as a combination of the two.
User dashboards are only viewable by you. Each newly created dashboard is considered a user dashboard. User dashboards are unique to the user that logged in to Apex and created it, and it can only be viewed and modified by that user. To share a user dashboard with other Apex users, the creator must promote the dashboard. A promoted dashboard becomes a site dashboard that is viewable by other users. A promoted dashboard cannot be demoted.
Promoting a dashboard does not simultaneously promote user widgets. This means you can promote a user dashboard to a site dashboard without promoting the underlying user widgets—if any exist. This protects your personal user widgets from being altered and changed by others. If you want to share a dashboard with others (by promotion) and also allow changes to those widgets, the widgets must be promoted to site widgets.
Your view of a dashboard can be shared with other users. As long as you are viewing a site or system dashboard—user dashboards are not applicable—your current view of the dashboard can be summarized into a shareable URL. Whoever clicks the URL you share can see the dashboard how it appeared to you. Choices you have made like the reporting period and any temporary dashboard filters are retained by the URL. You can use this sharing feature in your instant messages, emails, or other documents.